Inici > Private: PROGRAMS > Rural Tourism

Rural Tourism

Concatur Turisme rural

That rural tourism is a segment that has become firmly established in Catalonia is demonstrated by the fact that more than 2, 000 rural tourism establishments are registered with the Catalan Government’s Directorate General for Tourism.

Catalan rural tourism establishments are classified under a system, based on ears of wheat. To date, one-quarter of all the rural tourism establishments in Catalonia have been classified according to this system.

There are five categories of rural accommodation:

  • Basic: represented by one ear of wheat. Essential facilities and amenities for the stay.
  • Comfort: awarded two ears of wheat. High standard of facilities and amenities.
  • Great Comfort: marked by three ears of wheat. Very high standard of facilities and amenities.
  • Superior: indicated by four ears of wheat. Excellent standard of facilities and amenities, and large range of services. Singular setting or building.
  • Superior Premium: awarded five ears of wheat. Exceptional standard of facilities and amenities. Outstanding setting or building.
There are also two types of establishment, classified according to the colour of the ears of wheat:
  • Agrotourism: ochre ears of wheat.
  • Rural accommodation: green ears of wheat.

The purpose behind this classification system is to help travellers in the task of finding the most suitable accommodation according to their needs.

Certified rural tourism establishments are listed in the guide (Catalan and Spanish) published by the Catalan Tourist Board and at the following link:


ACT Tarragona Turisme Diputacio Lleida ddgi Twitter Barcelona Turisme Cambres Catalunya